Fourth or Subsequent DUI
Florida has some of the harshest penalties for DUI in the United States. When a driver is arrested for a fourth or subsequent DUI offense, they are almost always charged with a felony and prosecutors will seek to impose stiff penalties.
Being convicted of a fourth or subsequent DUI can result in the permanent loss of one’s driver’s license, time in prison and expensive fines. Because of that, it is imperative that you speak with an experienced attorney.
Attorney for Fourth or Subsequent DUI in Treasure Coast, FL
If you are being investigated for a fourth or subsequent DUI, you have come to the right place. Meltzer & Bell has proven experience defending DUI cases and they will do everything in their power to achieve the best possible outcome for your situation.
Call Meltzer & Bell today at (772) 291-2534 to schedule a free consultation, or submit your information in the online form. We represent clients with DUI cases in counties along the Treasure Coast that include Martin and Saint Lucie.
In Florida, it is unlawful for a driver to operate or be in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance or a combination of both. It is also against the law to have a blood or breath alcohol level of 0.08 or higher.
Actual physical control does not have to involve driving the vehicle. Instead, it is broadly defined as the ability to operate a vehicle while intoxicated. For instance, the police find a drunken person passed out behind the wheel of their car with the keys in the ignition. Since the drunken individual’s vehicle is capable of operating, they could be charged with DUI even though they were not driving the vehicle.
If you are arrested for a fourth or subsequent DUI, you could be charged with a third-degree felony and face the following penalties:
- Up to five years in prison
- $2,000 in fines ($4,000 if BAC is 0.15 or higher, or minor was in the vehicle)
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for at least six months
- Up to five years of probation
- Complete a substance abuse course
- Lifetime revocation of driver’s license
Everyday tasks become difficult when your driver license has been revoked. Thankfully, Florida has allowed for those who have been convicted of a fourth or subsequent DUI to apply for a hardship license five years after their conviction.
During the five years period, the driver must not have driven a vehicle for any reason or consumed any alcohol or illegal drugs. If so, they will not be eligible to for a hardship license for another five years.
A driver is only eligible to apply for an “employment purpose only” permit and eventually receive a “business purpose only” permit. An employment purpose permit only allows a driver to drive to and from work or for on-the-job driving purposes while a business purpose only permit enables a driver to drive to work, school, see the doctor and other limited locations.
To be eligible for a hardship license, the offender must have completed a substance abuse course and any recommended treatment if it was referred. The offender must also have a recommendation from the Special Supervision Services Program.
Once the offender receives their hardship license, they are required to remain in the Special Supervision Service Program in order to maintain their permit. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can dismiss a person from the SSSP program and cancel their hardship license under certain circumstances.
Driving Under the Influence | Florida Statute 316.193 – Follow this link to read through the state statute that governs DUI convictions in Florida. The law defines what a DUI is and penalties for the offense. The statute also includes aggravated factors that could heighten the penalties.
Alcoholics Anonymous in Martin County– Visit the Alcoholics Anonymous chapter in Martin County. The website allows users to find local meeting and events. Alcoholics Anonymous is a fellowship of men and women who share their experiences with alcoholism in hopes of recovering.
Lawyer for Fourth or Subsequent DUI in Treasure Coast, FL
The sooner you seek legal representation, the better your chances of having a favorable outcome in court. Meltzer & Bell will build a defense that is catered to your case, and strive to achieve the best possible outcome for your situation.
We represent clients with DUI in counties along the Treasure Coast that include Martin and Saint Lucie. Call Meltzer & Bell today at (772) 291-2534 to schedule a free case consultation, or submit your information in the online contact form.