Wet Reckless

In 2017, almost 1,000 people were arrested and charged with driving under the influence in Martin and St. Lucie Counties, according to a report released by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. That’s an average of nearly three arrests a day. If you or someone you love is facing DUI charges, you’re not alone.

A skilled attorney familiar with the laws on driving under the influence may be able to negotiate your charges down from DUI to something known as “wet reckless,” a lesser charge with reduced penalties. This can be difficult to accomplish without legal assistance, so it’s important that you contact a capable criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to see if you’re eligible for reduced charges.

Wet Reckless Attorney in Treasure Coast, FL

Our legal team at Meltzer & Bell is comprised of attorneys focused extensively on handling DUI charges. We have years of proven DUI defense experience representing people in situations just like the one you may be in now. We will push aggressively to protect your rights and arrive at the best possible outcome.

Call us at (772) 291-2534 or fill out our online form on this page to request a free consultation to discuss your case. Our lawyers are intimately familiar with DUI law in Treasure Coast, FL, including Palm City, Stuart, Port St. Lucie, and Fort Pierce in St. Lucie County and Martin County. You can reach us around the clock; the sooner you contact us, the sooner we can point you in the right direction. Get in touch today.


Overview of Wet Reckless in Treasure Coast, FL


Back to Top

Definition of Wet Reckless in Treasure Coast, FL

Driving under the influence is defined in Florida Statute 316.193. You can be charged with DUI if you are driving or in physical control of a vehicle with a blood-alcohol content level of 0.08% or greater. The “physical control” stipulation means that you don’t even need to be driving the vehicle; even sitting behind the wheel drunk while holding the keys can result in DUI charges.

“Wet reckless” is the phrase used to describe a DUI charge that is negotiated down to a lesser charge of reckless driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The only way this can be achieved is by negotiating with prosecutors to arrive at a plea bargain. A qualified attorney can handle the negotiation process to help ensure the best possible outcome for your defense.


Back to Top

The Difference Between DUI and Wet Reckless Charges in Treasure Coast, FL

Driving under the influence is charged as a first-degree misdemeanor for first offenders. Penalties for a first-degree misdemeanor conviction are severe. These penalties include:

  • driver’s license suspension for up to a year;
  • impoundment or immobilization of the vehicle for 10 days;
  • 50 hours of community service;
  • up to six months in jail;
  • a fine of up to $1,000; and
  • completion of a sobriety and drug monitoring program.

The judge may also choose to order that an ignition interlock device be placed on the defendant’s vehicles. Subsequent DUI charges bring even harsher penalties.

A wet reckless charge reduces the penalties faced by the defendant. Penalties for reckless driving under the influence include:

  • up to 90 days in jail
  • a maximum fine of $500; and
  • completion of a sobriety and drug monitoring program.

While a conviction for either DUI or reckless driving will cause insurance premiums to increase, a reckless driving conviction is likely to have a smaller financial impact.


Back to Top

Additional Resources

Driving under the influence | Florida Statutes Section 316.193 – Visit this link to view the complete language of Florida’s DUI law, made available online by the Florida Legislature. Here you can find descriptions of the legal definition for driving under the influence and associated penalties. It is a complex law, but a competent attorney can help you decipher and understand what everything means.

Reckless driving | Florida Statutes Section 316.192 – The Florida Legislature provides the full legal definition of reckless driving on its official website. This statute is much less in-depth than the law governing driving under the influence. Here you can find the penalties for reckless driving and get an idea of what to expect if you qualify for wet reckless charges.

2018 Arrests Report | FDLE – The Florida Department of Law Enforcement publishes an annual report of cumulative arrest statistics for the state, sorted by county. Visit this link to view the annual arrest tally for various crimes in your county, including DUI.


Back to Top

Defense Lawyer for Wet Reckless in Treasure Coast, FL

The burden of proof lies on the prosecution to prove that those accused of a crime are indeed guilty based on the available evidence. If you or someone you know is facing drunk driving charges, we will scrutinize the evidence and look for any weaknesses or procedural errors. If it’s not possible to dismiss the case completely, we can look at whether you may qualify to have your DUI charges reduced to wet reckless.

Contact Meltzer & Bell today for a free consultation. You can reach us at (772) 291-2534 or by filling out our convenient online form. Our experienced attorneys are passionate about defending our clients’ rights, and we’ll fight to secure the best possible outcome for you. We represent clients in the Treasure Coast area, including Vero Beach, Sebastian, and Hobe Sound in Martin County and St. Lucie County.


Back to Top

(772) 291-2534
  1. Our Firm
  2. Practices
  3. Contact
Meltzer & Bell, P.A.