While marijuana (pot, weed, chronic) is legal in Florida for medical purposes, the state has not legalized weed for recreational use. The majority of marijuana crimes in Florida involve the plant’s buds, but it can also involve concentrated forms of the plant such as wax and oils.
Counties in Florida have enacted municipal laws or resolutions to fully or partially decriminalize minor marijuana possession offenses, but counties along the Treasure Coast have not. Conviction of a marijuana-related offense could land you in jail and affect your ability to get a job or student loan.
Attorney for Marijuana Charges on the Treasure Coast
If you are facing charges related to marijuana in the Treasure Coast area, a defense attorney from Meltzer & Bell can assist you. Attorneys at Meltzer & Bell are former prosecutors and a public defender who fight for the rights of those accused of cannabis crimes.
Call us today at (772) 291-2534 or submit your information in the online form to set up a free case consultation. We represent clients in communities across Martin and Saint Lucie County.
Studies have demonstrated the casual use of marijuana has limited negative health effects and that the plant has low levels of addiction. However, Florida law bans the sale, cultivation and possession of marijuana.
Possession: This includes having marijuana buds, concentrate or plants on your person or within your control. The weight or number of plants determine how the offender will be charged.
Sale/Manufacture: This includes growing or selling marijuana, or possessing marijuana with the intent to sell or grow it. This also includes knowingly maintaining property where such activities occur.
Trafficking: This violation occurs when a person intentionally sells, buys, manufactures, delivers, possesses or transports more than 25 pounds of marijuana or 300 or more cannabis plants.
Drug Paraphernalia: This includes objects used to store, use, grow, manufacture or harvest marijuana. It can also involve possessing, using, manufacturing, selling or delivering drug paraphernalia.
Florida classifies marijuana as a Schedule I controlled substance, so being caught with it can result in some stiff penalties. The extent of the penalties will depend on the offense as well as the amount. Listed below are penalties for marijuana charges in Florida:
- Possession: Being in possession of fewer than 20 grams of marijuana is classified as a first-degree misdemeanor that is punishable with up to one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. Possession of more than 20 grams but less than 25 pounds is considered a felony and you could face five years in jail and fines up to $5,000. More than 25 pounds but less than 2,000 pounds is a felony that requires the offender to spend at least three years in jail but no more than 15 years and fine up to $25,000.
- Sale/ Manufacture: Being in possession of 20 grams or less without remuneration is classified as a misdemeanor that is punishable by one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. 25 pounds or less with remuneration is a felony that entails five years in jail and up to $5,000 in fines. More than 25 pounds but less than 2,000 pounds is a felony that entails a mandatory jail sentence of three years but no more than 15 and up to $25,000 in fines.
- Trafficking: Having more than 25 pounds but less than 2,000 pounds is a first-degree felony that is punished with a mandatory minimum jail sentence of three years and fines up to $25,000. More than 2,000 pounds but less than 10,000 pounds is a first-degree felony that is punishable with a mandatory minimum jail sentence of seven years and up to $50,000 in fines.
- Drug Paraphernalia: Being in possession of or using drug paraphernalia is a first-degree misdemeanor that is punishable with up to one year in jail. Manufacturing or selling is a third-degree felony that is punishable with up to five years in prison. Delivering paraphernalia to a minor is a second-degree felony that is punishable by up to 15 years in prison.
Prohibited Acts and Penalties | Florida Statutes Section 893.13 – Follow this link to read the Florida statute that determines prohibited marijuana acts and penalties in the state. The statue defines what possession, manufacturing, trafficking and drug paraphernalia are as well as their penalties. The statute can be read on Online Sunshine, the official site for the Florida legislature.
NORML of Florida – Visit NORML, an organization that serves to advocate for the safe and responsible use of marijuana and inform Florida citizens of the state’s marijuana laws. The site also provides information on cannabis research and legal issues.
Lawyer for Marijuana Charges in Treasure Coast, FL
If you are facing criminal charges related to marijuana you have come to the right place. Meltzer & Bell is experienced with defending marijuana charges and our attorneys will strive to achieve the best possible outcome for your situation.
Meltzer & Bell defend clients in Martin and Saint Lucie County. Call us today at (772) 291-2534 or submit your information in the online form to set up a free consultation.