Registering as a Sex Offender

In Florida, individuals convicted of sex crimes are required to register as a sex offender, which is public record. Failure to do so can lead to harsh repercussions, including prison time. Most sex offenders are required to register for the rest of their lives.

It’s crucial that you understand the process of registering as a sex offender. It’s equally as important that you understand how to comply with ongoing requirements, such as re-registration. It’s in your best interest to seek out the help of a qualified sex crimes attorney.

Defense Attorney for Registering as a Sex Offender in Treasure Coast, FL

Our attorneys at Meltzer & Bell have defended many clients accused of sexual offenses. We’ll help you understand what registering as a sex offender means for you, what’s expected, and what will happen if you fail to meet your requirements under the law. We understand that this process can be difficult and confusing, and we’re here to put our experience to work for you.

Call us today at (772) 291-2534 or fill out our online form to set up a free consultation to discuss the details of your case. We defend Treasure Coast clients in Martin County and St. Lucie County, including Port St. Lucie, Fort Pierce, and Stuart.


Overview of Registering as a Sex Offender in Treasure Coast, FL


Back to Top

Requirements for Registering as a Sex Offender in Treasure Coast, FL

Florida Statute 943.0435 provides that sex offenders must report in person to the sheriff’s office in the county of their temporary or permanent residence within 48 hours of their release from a correctional facility. Sex offenders not sentenced to serve time must report to the sheriff’s office within 48 hours of conviction.

A major part of the sex offender registration process is providing the sheriff’s office with a great deal of detailed information about yourself. The information you’re required to provide includes (but is not limited to) your name, birthdate, social security number, description of any tattoos, any email addresses and social media accounts, vehicle identification number, fingerprints, palm prints, and much more.

After initially providing the sheriff’s office with all the required information about yourself, you are still responsible for keeping everything updated immediately upon change. A change in address or phone numbers, taking a trip out of the county, any employment information updates, enrollment at an institution of higher learning, and many more pieces of information must be reported to the sheriff’s office within 48 hours of the change. You must be vigilant in keeping track of what aspects of your life are under constant review by law enforcement; an honest mistake could result in additional felony charges.


Back to Top

Reregistering as a Sex Offender in Treasure Coast, FL

Sex offenders are required to report to the sheriff’s office in their county on a regular basis. The type of offense committed dictates how often the offender must reregister.

Most offenders will need to reregister twice a year. They must register first during the month of their birth, then reregister every six months after that.

Other offenders must reregister four times a year. They need to register initially during the month of their birth, then reregister every three months after that. Sex offenders who are required to reregister four times a year include those convicted of crimes such as:

  • kidnapping or falsely imprisoning another person’s child;
  • sexual battery; and
  • unlawful sexual activity with a minor.

Offenders convicted of capital, life, and first-degree felony sex crimes are designated as sex predators by the court. Sex predators are also required to reregister four times a year.


Back to Top

Penalties for Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Treasure Coast, FL

If you’ve been convicted as a sexual offender, it is crucial that you comply with the law completely. Failure to properly register as a sex offender and keep your information updated will result in third-degree felony charges. Believe it or not, if law enforcement officials discover that you create and fail to report an account on a social media site, an online forum, or even an online video game, you could face felony charges.

For your first violation of sex offender registration requirements, you face a mandatory minimum 6-month community control sentence, which is similar to house arrest, and an electronic GPS tracking device will be attached to you. Subsequent violations increase the amount of time you are under community controlled and tracked. Failure to register as a sex offender could also land you in prison for up to five years with a maximum fine of $5,000.


Back to Top

Additional Resources

Important Information | Florida Department of Law Enforcement – The Florida Department of Law Enforcement handles sex offender registration for the state. Here you can view a comprehensive guide to the requirements for registering and re-registering as well as exactly what information you are required to provide to law enforcement and when it’s due. Each requirement lists potential felony charges if it is not met in a timely manner.

Frequently Asked Questions | Florida Department of Law Enforcement – This additional resource from the FDLE provides an extensive list of questions you may have if you’ve recently been ordered to register as a sex offender. An experienced defense attorney can assist you with any questions that the FDLE’s page doesn’t answer.

Sexual offenders registration law | Florida Statutes 943.0435 – The full text of the law governing requirements for convicted sex offenders can be found on the Florida Legislature’s official website. This statute provides both the definition of the crime and the prescribed penalties for its violation.


Back to Top

Defense Lawyer for Registering as a Sex Offender in Treasure Coast

Registering as a sex offender is a cumbersome process. The experienced attorneys at Meltzer & Bell can walk you through the whole process to make sure you meet all of your legal requirements for registering, re-registering, and keeping all necessary information up to date to avoid further criminal penalties. There is a lot to be aware of, but we’re here to help. We believe everyone deserves the best possible defense.

Contact Meltzer & Bell today by calling (772) 291-2534 or by filling out our convenient online form. We will set up a free consultation to discuss your case and see what your next steps should be. Our team defends clients across the Treasure Coast area, including Sebastian, Palm City, and Vero Beach in Martin County and St. Lucie County.


Back to Top

(772) 291-2534
  1. Our Firm
  2. Practices
  3. Contact
Meltzer & Bell, P.A.