The majority of the traffic offenses that occur on Florida’s roadways are civil violations. These violations include speeding or running a red light and are typically punishable by a fine.
The more severe traffic crimes are classified as criminal traffic offenses. They are typically punishable by jail time and can include reckless driving, driving under the influence and leaving the scene of an accident.
Defense Attorney for Traffic Offenses in Treasure Coast, FL
If you revived a traffic violation or are being investigated for a criminal traffic offense, you should contact Meltzer & Bell. Our attorneys have proven experience defending traffic offenses, and they will do everything in their power to achieve the best possible outcome for your situation.
We defend clients in counties along the Treasure Coast that include Martin and Saint Lucie. Call Meltzer & Bell today at (772) 248-1215 to schedule a free case consolation or submit your information in the online contact form.
Overview of Traffic Offenses in Treasure Coast, FL
The majority of the time, when a Florida driver commits a traffic offense, it’s a civil one. When a driver violates a civil traffic law, they are given a ticket and are required to appear in court, pay a fine, enroll in traffic school, or a combination of the two.
Some of the most common civil traffic offenses in Florida include the following:
- Speeding: The penalties for a speeding ticket depend on what county you received the citation. If you received the ticket in Martin County, you could be fined anywhere from $128 to $453, while in Saint Lucie the fines can range from $131 to $456.
- Texting while driving: It is illegal in Florida to text and drive. The fines for this violation depend on whether or not you have been convicted in the past and can range from $116 to $166
- Failure to wear a seat belt: Seat belts are designed to save lives. Failing to wear on will result in a $116 fine in Saint Lucie and $113 in Martin County.
- Failure to stop at a stop sign: When you approach a stop sign your vehicle is required to come to a complete stop. Failing to do so can result in a fine that ranges from $163 to $166.
- Parking violation: This can include parking in front of a fire hydrant and a no parking zone. If the violation took place in Saint Lucie County, you could be fined $116 and $113 in Martin County.
Every traffic offense falls under one of two categories: moving violations and non-moving violations. A moving violation, as the name implies, is an offense that took place while the vehicle was moving. This can include speeding, driving while intoxicated or illegal lane changes. On the other hand, a non-moving violation is an offense that occurs while the vehicle is not moving. This can include parking violations, a broken taillight or issues with paperwork such as invalid insurance or expired license.
Criminal traffic offenses are more severe than civil ones. They require an appearance in court and can carry penalties that can include fines, court cost and the possibility of incarceration. All criminal traffic violations are classified as either a felony or misdemeanor and can include the following:
- Reckless driving: This is considered operating a vehicle with disregard for the safety of others. It can also involve fleeing law enforcement in a motor vehicle. The violation is punishable by up to 90 days in jail, between $25 and $500 in fines or a combination of both.
- Driving under the influence: This is one of the most common types of criminal traffic violations, and it includes driving a vehicle while under the influence of drugs, alcohol or a combination of both. Penalties for the crime can range from six months to five years of imprisonment.
- Leaving the Scene of an accident: It is illegal to leave the scene of a crash in Florida. If convicted, you could face up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.
- DUI manslaughter: This involves the unintentional death of a person as a result of driving under the influence. Penalties for the crime can range from 15 to 30 years in prison.
- Hit and run: This is when a driver involved in a collision, knowingly fails to stop and provide his or her information. Penalties for a hit and run can range from 60 days to five years of imprisonment.
Traffic Fines for Martin County – Follow this link to the Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller of Martin County to view a list of civil traffic violations and their fines. The list includes fines for offenses such as speeding, running a red light and parking in a handicapped space. The chart also includes the clerk’s fees for each violation for enrolling in driving school.
Traffic Fines for Saint Lucie County – View a full list of fees for traffic violations in Saint Lucie County. Some of the violations listed include texting while driving, child restraint and failing to wear a set belt. The list can be viewed on the Saint Lucie Clerk website.
Lawyer or Traffic Offenses in Treasure Coast, FL
Whether the traffic violation is civil or criminal, you should find yourself an attorney. Meltzer & Bell is experienced with traffic offenses in the Treasure Coast, and we will do everything in our power to either get your ticket thrown out or the penalties significantly reduced.
Call Meltzer & Bell today at (772) 248-1215 to schedule a free case consultation or submit your information in the online contact form. We represent clients with traffic offenses in counties on the Treasure Coast that include Martin and Saint Lucie.