DUI with Property Damage
Millions of Americans enjoy drinking alcohol for relaxation and fun. That fun can come to an abrupt halt if you get into a wreck after drinking and cause damage to another person’s property.
If you’ve been charged with DUI with property damage, you should speak to a DUI defense attorney immediately. This charge carries some heavy penalties that could have a long-lasting negative impact on your life if you do not prepare a proper defense.
Defense Attorney for DUI with Property Damage in Treasure Coast, FL
The attorneys at Meltzer & Bell are dedicated to providing our clients with the highest quality legal defenses possible. Our attorneys have experience working for both the prosecution and defense sides of many lawsuits. This allows us unique insight into how the other side thinks.
Call us at (772) 291-2534 or fill out our online form to set up a free consultation. We will discuss the details of your case and can advise the best steps to take to defend against DUI with property damage charges. We represent Treasure Coast clients from Palm City, Port St. Lucie, and Stuart in St. Lucie County and Martin County.
Overview of DUI with Property Damage in Treasure Coast, FL
- Definition of DUI with Property Damage in Treasure Coast, FL
- Penalties for DUI with Property Damage in Treasure Coast, FL
- Enhanced Penalties for DUI with Property Damage in Treasure Coast, FL
- Additional Resources
Definition of DUI with Property Damage in Treasure Coast, FL
Two criteria must be met for a suspect to be found guilty of driving under the influence.
- It must be proven that they were impaired by alcohol, chemical substances, and/or controlled substances.
- It must also be shown that the suspect’s blood-alcohol or breath-alcohol content measured 0.08% or greater at the time of arrest.
A person commits DUI with property damage if, while driving under the influence, they cause damage to another person’s property.
Penalties for DUI with Property Damage in Treasure Coast, FL
Florida state law classifies DUI with property damage as a first-degree misdemeanor. The long list of potential penalties includes:
- Jail time up to 12 months
- Probation up to 12 months
- $500 to $1,000 fine
- 6- to 12-month revocation of driver’s license
- 10-day immobilization or impoundment of the vehicle driven when DUI arrest occurred
- 50 hours of community service
- Completion of a DUI substance abuse course
- Completion of an evaluation to determine if substance abuse treatment is needed
- Completion of substance abuse treatment, if applicable.
Enhanced Penalties for DUI with Property Damage in Treasure Coast, FL
On top of the penalties listed above, committing a DUI with a BAC level greater than 0.15% can result in an additional $1,000 to $2,000 in fines and installation of an ignition interlock device on every vehicle that the convicted person regularly uses, operates, or owns. That person would need to blow into the device to confirm they have not been drinking every time they wanted to start the car.
Someone convicted of this crime could also face additional penalties for having a person under the age of 18 in their vehicle at the time of arrest. The penalty for driving under the influence with property damage while accompanied by a minor is $1,000 to $2,000 in fines in addition to the base penalties.
Traffic Crash Facts | FLHSMV – Florida’s Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles publishes an annual study containing compiled statistics about crashes on the state’s roadways. Visit this link to view information about the number of crashes involving property damage in 2016 as compared to previous years. Here you can also view statistics on the number of crashes involving drugs and alcohol.
Driving under the influence | Florida Statutes 316.193 – Visit this website to read the full text of the statute concerning driving under the influence as published by the Florida Legislature. Here you will find the definition of driving under the influence, links to the statutes prescribing penalties for DUI with property damage, and enhanced penalties.
Defense Lawyer for DUI with Property Damage in Treasure Coast, FL
A conviction for DUI with property damage could mean jail time, fines, probation, increased insurance premiums, and a lot of other baggage. It is crucial that you contact an experienced defense attorney to look carefully at how your arrest was conducted, how evidence was gathered and by whom, and whether any of your rights were violated in the process. The more holes you can poke in the prosecution’s case, the more likely that you will obtain a positive outcome.
Contact Meltzer & Bell today at (772) 291-2534 or by completing our short online form. We will set up a free consultation to allow you to discuss your case. We have successfully defended clients from Treasure Coast cities like Port Salerno, Jupiter Island, and Palm City in St. Lucie County and Martin County. Our knowledgeable DUI attorneys can examine the evidence in your case and push for reduction or even outright dismissal of charges when possible. You deserve the best possible defense; contact us now.